About Us

The Charlestown Democratic Town Committee serves to manage the affairs of the Democratic Party in the town of Charlestown, RI subject to Rhode Island Election LawState Party rules and its own bylaws. The CDTC meets monthly on the third Tuesday. These meetings and other CDTC events are published HERE as well as on the State Party's calendar. Any Charlestown registered Democrat is welcome to attend.

Town Committee Officers

To email any of our officers, address your email to info@charlestowndemocrats.org and it will be forwarded to the person or persons you specify.

Chair: John Hamilton

Vice-Chair: Donna Walsh

Donna has been active in local politics since 1978, when she decided that she could not stand by and watch a nuclear power plant be built in the South County that she loves. After helping win that fight she was elected to the Charlestown Town Council 1982, then as State Senator, and as the state Representative for District 36.

Throughout my elected service I have unwaveringly sought to serve the specific needs of my constituents. I have prioritized my time toward initiatives for jobs, the environment, equity and justice, ethics and open government, and education.

Treasurer: Diane Nelson

Secretary: Dawne L. Burns

Dawne Resided on the north and south shores of Massachusetts until moving to Charlestown in 2008 with husband Michael Breton. Both have been members of the Democratic Town Committee since 2012.

She worked at Ocean Spray Cranberries, Inc. for 21 years at their Massachusetts headquarters as Administrative Assistant to the Vice President of Manufacturing/Operations. Dawne sang 4-part harmony as a member of Sweet Adelines International for 10 years in addition to performing for many years with a barbershop quartet and an “a cappella” octet.

She was most recently appointed to the Charlestown Board of Canvassers.

The members of the Charlestown Democratic Town Committee
Nick Bottai
Michael Breton
Dawne Burns
Catherine Collette
Regina DeAngelo
John Donoghue
John Hamilton
Scott Keeley
Ron Russo
Donna Walsh

Associate members
Linda Felaco
Ginger Glander